Skip to Content

Show News

No All-Star Game? No Problem, As Drew Carey, Slim Jim Phantom To Manage Teams As Strat-O-Matic Simulates Contest In Interactive Live Video July 14 Via Wizard World Virtual Experiences; Free Video Q&A Streamed Live On Twitch, YouTube, Facebook

Actor, host, comedian and baseball super-fan Drew Carey will match wits with his friend and fellow Strat-O-Matic player, musician Slim Jim Phantom, when the two square off as managers of the American League and National League teams, respectively, when Strat-O-Matic (www.strat-o-matic.com) simulates the 2020 baseball All Star Game on Tuesday, July 14. Carey and Phantom will appear live via Wizard Entertainment, Inc. (OTCBB:WIZD), streaming on Wizard World Virtual Experiences Twitch, Facebook and YouTube channels beginning at 9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT, giving fans the opportunity to interact with each other as well as pose questions via chat to be considered for the broadcast.

Carey and Phantom will select the starting lineups from the All-Star Game rosters chosen by Strat-O-Matic fans based on its simulation of the 2020 baseball season to date. During the broadcast, the “Whose Line is it Anyway?” host and “Stray Cats” drummer will make lineup and pitching changes while discussing their baseball fandom and respective careers, with veteran sportscaster Seth Everett serving as moderator on the Wizard World Virtual Experiences (www.wizardworldvirtual.com) platform, which has hosted more than 50 celebrity, artist, author and pop culture panels in recent weeks.

The Strat-O-Matic All-Star broadcast will also feature surprise “drop-in” guests from the baseball and entertainment worlds, along with a running visual of the digital version of the game to allow fans to follow along with the action. Fans who miss the live broadcast can watch it on demand anytime on the same platforms.

“Slim Jim and I are in a Strat-O-Matic league together, so this will be a fun way to flex our managerial muscles and show that the American League is truly dominant in baseball,” joked Carey, whose Cleveland baseball fandom is well known. “Like all fans, we’ll miss not seeing the players on the field next Tuesday, but I look forward to talking baseball with Slim Jim and with fans who tune in to the broadcast.”

Carey is a stand-up comic turned actor and producer who had the distinction of having two hit shows simultaneously: the long-running comedy "The Drew Carey Show," which ran from 1995-2004, and the improv/sketch show "Whose Line Is It Anyway?" on which he was host and a producer. The success of that show led to the creation of "Drew Carey's Improv All-Stars," an improv troupe that performed in showrooms across the country. In July 2007, Carey was named the host of “The Price is Right,” succeeding longtime host Bob Barker.

Phantom is the drummer for the band Stray Cats and host of "Rockabilly Raveup" in Little Steven's Underground Garage and Fantasy Baseball's "Slim Jim Phantasy,” both on SiriusXM.

Upcoming Wizard World Virtual Experiences include:

  • Thursday, July 9, "Blazing Saddles," Burton Gilliam, Rodney Allen Rippy · 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT
  • Thursday, July 9 · Video Game Music Dance Party with DJ Washburn · 3 p.m. ET / noon PT
  • Thursday, July 9 · Super Girl Gamer Pro · 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT
  • Thursday, July 9 · WizQuiz/Nerd Survivor Style Trivia · 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT
  • Tuesday, July 14, "Battlestar Galactica," Tahmot Penikett, Aaron Douglas, Leah Cairns, Nicki Clyne · 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT
  • Tuesday, July 14, "One Tree Hill," Paul Johansson, Robert Buckley, Tyler Hilton, Marcus Coloma · 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT
  • Tuesday, July 14, "Strat-O-Matic All-Star Game," with celebrity managers Drew Carey, Slim Jim Phantom · 9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT
  • Sunday, July 18, "Sons of Anarchy," Dayton Callie, Michael Ornstein, Rusty Coones, Timothy V. Murphy · 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT
  • Wednesday, July 21, Charles Leerhsen/author, Butch Cassidy · 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT
No All-Star Game? No Problem, As Drew Carey, Slim Jim Phantom To Manage Teams As Strat-O-Matic Simulates Contest In Interactive Live Video July 14 Via Wizard World Virtual Experiences; Free Video Q&A Streamed Live On Twitch, YouTube, Facebook