Skip to Content

Show News

Believe It! Micky Dolenz To Appear At Wizard World Virtual Experiences August 2

Actor, singer, director, producer, writer, radio DJ, inventor, all-around performer extraordinaire—and frequent Wizard World guest—Micky Dolenz will make his first virtual appearance on Sunday, August 2, at 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT, at “Wizard World Virtual Experiences” (http://www.wizardworldvirtual.com). Best known as vocalist and drummer of “The Monkees,” the superstar who has been entertaining crowds for more than a half century will take part in a FREE live moderated video Q&A, followed by one-on-one video chats, recorded videos and autographs. Sessions are accessible to virtual attendees on their computer and mobile devices via Twitch, Facebook and YouTube.

Dolenz’s appearance is part of a continuing series by Wizard Entertainment, Inc. (OTCBB:WIZD), featuring stars of iconic series and franchises across its digital video platforms.

In the fall of 1965, Micky was one of 400 applicants who responded to a trade ad that announced auditions for a new TV show about a rock band. He auditioned for The Monkees’ TV show by playing and singing Chuck Berry’s legendary rocker “Johnny B. Goode,” and wound up chosen for the show along with three other actors: Davy Jones, Michael Nesmith, and Peter Tork.

The Monkees' debut single, "Last Train to Clarksville," featuring Micky on lead vocals, hit the charts on September 10, 1966 and rocketed swiftly to number one. Ultimately, The Monkees achieved their greatest success not as a TV show but as viable recording artists; selling in excess of 65 million units, and achieving worldwide success.

As part of the Wizard World Virtual Experiences event, fans across the globe can:

Pricing varies by item for the individual chat, video and autographs, available on the Website.

Upcoming Wizard World Virtual Experiences

  • Thursday, July 23, "DC Stars," K Callan, Nicholle Tom · 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT
  • Thursday, July 23, pop artist Matt Taylor · 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT
  • Saturday, July 25, "Marvel Stars," Maja Stojan, Christopher Daniel Barnes, Daz Crawford, Akira Akbar · 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT
  • Sunday, July 26 · UCre-8 Comics with Victor Dandridge · 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT
  • Sunday, July 26 · How to YouTube with Fandoms Anonymous · 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT
  • Sunday, July 26, "Chilling Adventures of Sabrina," Lucy Davis, Michelle Gomez, Miranda Otto · 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT
  • Monday, July 27 · Bugs Bunny 80th Birthday, A Look Back at the Icon · Time TBD
  • Tuesday, July 28, "Supergirl," Mehcad Brooks, Jesse Rath, Sam Witwer, Helen Slater, Erica Durance, Nicole Maines · 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT
  • Tuesday, July 28 · Buffy Fan Panel with Pure Fandom · 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT
  • Friday, July 31 · The Wives of Harry Potter · 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT
  • Friday, July 31 · The Drunk Texts: Vol. 1 · 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT
  • Sunday, August 2, Micky Dolenz, "The Monkees" · 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT
  • Saturday, August 8, "LEGO Masters," The Newlyweds: Tyler and Amy Clites; The Bearded Builders: Boone Langston and Mark Cruickshank; The Eccentrics: Samuel and Jessica Ragzy Ewud · 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT
Believe It! Micky Dolenz To Appear At Wizard World Virtual Experiences August 2