Skip to Content

Wizard World Hall of Legends To Honor Comic Arts Legacy

For more than a quarter-century, the name Wizard World has represented the best in comics and pop culture. As one of the media pioneers in the space, Wizard World is proud to be honoring and respecting the legacy of the comic arts through the Wizard World Hall of Legends, a new initiative to celebrate the artists, writers and insiders who have built the industry and those continue the traditions.

The first recipient of the Wizard World Hall of Legends award is Rob Liefeld, creator of the popular Cable, Deadpool, X-Force and Youngblood franchises. Liefeld will be presented the inaugural award at Wizard World Comic Con Philadelphia in a ceremony on Friday, June 2, at the Pennsylvania Convention Center.

Following the success of X-Force (#1 went on to sell an unprecedented five million copies in the United States alone making it the #2 selling comic book of all time), Liefeld teamed with his peers to launch Image Comics, the most successful independent comic book label in comics history. Youngblood, created and illustrated by Liefeld, went on to sell 1 million copies, shattering the sales record for an independent comic book. Liefeld created a comic production label, Extreme Studios which went on to publish Liefeld creations, Brigade, Bloodstrike, Supreme, Glory, Prophet and Avengelyne, many continue their publication at Image today.

More than 25 years after introducing the world to his brilliant creations, Liefeld continues to enjoy the fruits of his imagination as Cable, Deadpool and others expand into multi-media platforms including cartoons, video games and motion pictures.

The Wizard World Hall of Legends initiative, which will honor one or more figures from the comics world at each convention, is one in a series of enhancements that Wizard World is making in the comics area. Artist Alley in Philadelphia features a standout lineup of creators from the worlds of: Marvel Joe Rubinstein (Wolverineinker), Arthur Suydam (Marvel Zombies artist), Steve Geiger (Spider-Man, Hulk, Wolverine, Punisher artist and more DC (JG Jones (Y the Last Man cover artist), Keith Giffen (Omega Men, Lobo),Tony Kordos (Cyborg inker), Stuart Sayger (Walking Dead, ROM, Shiver in the Dark), Simon Fraser (UK’s 2000 AD), Amy Chu (Kiss writer), animation (Phil Ortiz (Simpsons), Sam Ellis (Archer creator), Tom Cook (He-Man) and many more.